Miscellaneous

Good from Bad: A Troubling Dream with a Powerful Lesson

PicsArt_07-22-12.37.51

I had a strange dream. It was awful. Why am I sharing? Because this was one of those awful dreams that served a purpose. And once God showed me the meaning, once I understood the atrocities in my dream, I felt less haunted.

I was bothered by it. Lost in thought over it. But sometimes bothered can be a good thing. Bothered provokes thought and thought coupled with action provokes change.

Change is sometimes needed. For growth. For peace.

This is not something usual for me. I don’t typically feel prompted to share my in most thoughts here on the blog.

But I feel that this is important. But a warning: this is a bit of a graphic dream involving an animal and people. So if you are easily queasy be aware.

apollo-1284468

In my dream I was trapped in a room with another person and a wolf. And this is where the dream gets graphic because the wolf attacked this person and began…there is no nice way to say it..devouring them. I’m sure you can understand it was awful. I prayed for it to stop. For God to make the dream to go away. But it didn’t. And I did not understand.

And then the wolf was different. It was nice, kind. Like a friendly domestic dog. A person in my dream was petting it and saying, “See? Sometimes they are nice like this.”

When I awoke, I was deeply bothered by this dream. I could not make sense of it. I prayed for God to help me understand it.

He brought this scripture to mind:

“But if you bite and devour one another, watch out that you are not consumed by one another.” 

Galatians 5:15 (ESV)

It made sense. It was an ah-ha moment. I immediately made a connection in my own life.

There are times when I see this in the Christian community. And I wonder… why?

Looking more at the passage, I read that Galatians 5:1-15 is titled “Christ Has Set Us Free”. Galatians 5:16-26 is labeled “Walk By The Spirit”. Chapter 6:1-10= “Bear One Another’s Burdans”.

I saw answers to my questions emerging.

I read the scriptures surrounding Galatians 5:15:

“For you were called to freedom, brothers. Only do not use your freedom as an opportunity for the flesh, but through love serve one another. For the whole law is fulfilled in one word: “You shall love your neighbor as yourself.” But if you bite and devour one another, watch out that you are not consumed by one another.”

(Galatians 5:13-15 ESV)

We are a community of believers called to love one another. It doesn’t mean we won’t ever disagree. That we won’t ever stumble or wound one another.

It does mean we serve a God who won’t ever leave us or forsake us (Deut. 31:6, Hebrews 13:5).

And He has promised to stand by us and help us through life’s trials.

vintage-2373083

Paul makes it clear in Romans that the flesh and the spirit are at odds with one another. Even though we are new creatures in Christ, we still are susceptible to the things of the flesh. We are imperfect people in an imperfect world.

But thank the Lord He’s not yet done working on us, molding us, shaping us.

We exist to glorify Him. May our words, actions and relationships reflect who we are in Christ. Not perfect, but redeemed.

Sometimes God gives you wild dreams that don’t immediately make sense. He often has and does speak to His people through dreams.

How about you? Any crazy dreams you want to share? Do you feel they have a special meaning?

~Rachel

3 thoughts on “Good from Bad: A Troubling Dream with a Powerful Lesson”

  1. What a powerful dream indeed!! I can see how you can be troubled. I see symbolism of a wolf in sheep’s clothing. The wolf devouring in front of you is the power God grants us, in the sense we have our eyes open to the truth. We see people for who they are because of the Holy Spirit within. We won’t be deceived when others say, “Oh, this person is a believer. They are on the right path.” When in truth, the person is a deceiver. We won’t know, if we don’t have the right relationship. And as you say, we can most certainly trip up over ourselves. I love how God provided answers for you : ) . Keep going Rachel!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes it certainly was a difficult dream to understand. I hesitated sharing this because of the nature of the dream. But I thought it helped drive home a powerful lesson. To me, the dream coupled with the verse gave me insight and understanding. This issue of discord among believers has been on my heart lately.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

