Gardening

Where Dirt Meets Light and Love

PicsArt_06-15-07.31.52

I’m in a writing funk lately. My week is about to become tipsy-topsy-turvy. (More on that later.) The inspiration is lacking. So I do what all good writers do, I go out and get busy. Get inspired. Lift my spirits with something that I love.

I love to garden. I always have and I think I always will. Ever since I was a child, I’ve always had a curious interest in plants. What makes them tick, makes them grow. Gardening is my therapy. It soothes my soul and propels me forward when times get tough.

Here is today’s work:

IMG_1629.JPG
Cute little nook in progress!

 

The larger one at the end has sweet potatoes and marigolds. Good companion plants. I bought all 12 plants for under $5 😀 My heart is doing a tiny frugal dance.

The bed on the right has my Lenten rose and impatient seeds. Both are excellent for shade.

IMG_1626.JPG

Fun fact: about a week ago my daughter chewed through the box of impatient seeds and spilled some all over herself. She might have eaten some. I don’t know. It was awhile before I noticed. Haha.

20170615_211043

And here’s a bit from the big garden, which was planted nearly 2 weeks ago:

 

IMG_1601.JPG
Silver thyme.

 

IMG_1613
Baby Calendula Resina (from seed).

 

IMG_1616
Munstead Lavender I started from seed. 2 months old, same age as my Black Vernissage tomato plants!

 

By the way, only 2 out of 6+ lavender plants survived. The Black V. tomatoes (4) are still a bit scraggly as well.

IMG_1619
Blossoms on my Sun Gold tomato plant.

 

IMG_1597-1
Baby borage (from seed). If you look close you can see the leaves are covered in prickly hairs already.

 

IMG_1604
Baby Vierling Dill (took for-ev-er to sprout).

 

IMG_1600
The basils. Purple Ruffles and Genovese.

 

On occasion I overhear someone say that gardening is difficult or they have a black thumb or whatnot. And I am not the best gardener out there, but I’ve always thought that plants are just like people. All they need is a little bit of light and love.

Do you have a garden? If so what are you growing this year?

~Rachel

I had this verse running through my head as I wrote:

PicsArt_06-15-07.38.08.jpg

2 thoughts on “Where Dirt Meets Light and Love”

    1. You’re welcome 🙂 We’ve been married for 6 years next month but this is the first year I’ve been able to have a bigger garden planted to my liking. It is such a blessing to grow a garden. But there are many different types of gardening…like container gardening and hydroponic..can even grow some inside while you are waiting. The day will come 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

