Toddler Activities

Winter Blues…and Crafting With Toddlers

PicsArt_05-25-12.22.20

Let me just start by saying. I hate January. There is something about this month. October is my favorite and this month, well, it has nothing but deep and utter loathing from me.

Winter really isn’t that bad. But where I live, it seems like it actually starts in November. So that we have precisely one month of Autumn and 4-5 months of Winter. It gets old by the time the Christmas/New Year’s spirit has worn away, come mid-January.

It gives me the winter blues. And the winter crankies. And the cabin fever. Thank-you pregnancy hormones for helping that along.

But the point of this post is that there are still things to do to keep your mind active. With a small child in my house, I really have to work to find activities that interest us both. And they need to be easy and cheap.

So this week we have been 1. Playing in the snow and 2. Making bird seed crafts.

I found this toilet paper tube bird seed craft idea awhile back. My friends, it is a match made in heaven for pregnant mamas of toddlers.

Lets face it, when you are pregnant you use up the TP. Plus little someones are either unfurling it everywhere or in the process of toilet training. Why not save all the empty tubes and use it to make a craft?

I love watching the birds nibble on these little feeders. I think J just likes the creating part but that’s ok 🙂

IMG_0601
Here is what you will need. I use Jif for the birds and Aldi brand PB for us 😉

 

IMG_0609
Helping me roll the tube in birdseed.
IMG_0616
After 5 rolls, we had an empty plate.
IMG_0617
Ready to go outside!
winter blog post4
Day #2 of playing in the snow. I made the snow towers and he knocked them down.
IMG_0618
This was the day after we put out the feeders.

IMG_0620

IMG_0621

The birds love this little snack. I see a lot of sparrows and chickadees (I think?) nibbling away when I glance from my kitchen window. It makes me happy to do something kind, in the midst of my winter blues. And playing out in the snow was fun too. Ask me about how my snow pants wouldn’t zip up. Actually no. Don’t.

Enjoy your winter!

winter crafts blog post squirrel2
Caught this little guy sharing the birds food!

 

~Rachel

2 thoughts on “Winter Blues…and Crafting With Toddlers”

  1. We have considered moving south as well. The problem is that I don’t much like the summer heat. And a certain other someone does! I don’t especially mind winter but it always gets to be a pain in the month of January. At least we have the consolation of snow to play in 🙂

    Like

  2. Aww, J looks like he’s having so much fun! I agree, I hate the winter and cannot wait for summer and fall. Mike and I would love to move down south (like South Carolina or Florida) so we wouldn’t have to deal with the horrible West Virginia winters.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

